Independent Lens Wins IDA Award for Best Curated Series

Fill 54 Created with Sketch. PDF Download

(San Francisco, CA) December 11, 2017— Independent Lens has won the 2017 IDA Documentary Award for Best Curated Series from the International Documentary Association. This year’s win marks the fourth time for the series, having received the award previously in 2013, 2014, and 2015. The 33rd Annual IDA Documentary Awards ceremony took place on Saturday, December 9 at the Paramount Theatre in Los Angeles.

In accepting the award, Lois Vossen, Independent Lens executive producer, said: “This award is especially for the passionate and compassionate filmmakers who make films that reflect our complex world. They invite us to take a new look at one another and ourselves. They inspire us to have the guts to speak out when it’s sometimes dangerous to be brave. Theirs are the unforgettable voices that cut through the echo chamber in these divided times. Their voices need to be heard because diversity and inclusion is core to our being American, and what makes us stronger.
Thank you storytellers! Independent Lens is proud to be your funder, your incubator, your ally, and your partner.”

Independent Lens was recognized earlier in October with four 2017 News & Documentary Emmy® Awards: The Armor of Light for Outstanding Social Issue Documentary; In Football We Trust for Outstanding Business and Economic Documentary; (T)ERROR for Outstanding Investigative Documentary; and Best of Enemies for Outstanding Historical Documentary.


About Independent Lens

Independent Lens is an Emmy® Award-winning weekly series airing on PBS Monday nights at 10:00 PM. The acclaimed series, with Lois Vossen as executive producer, features documentaries united by the creative freedom, artistic achievement, and unflinching visions of independent filmmakers. Presented by ITVS, the series is funded by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, a private corporation funded by the American people, with additional funding from PBS, the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, Wyncote Foundation, and the National Endowment for the Arts. For more visit Join the conversation: and on Twitter @IndependentLens.


Posted on December 11, 2017