The Wilgus Stories

A trilogy (Fat Monroe, Night Ride and Maxine) about Wilgus Collier and those close to him.

Premiere Date
June 1, 2000
60 minutes
  • Award laurels-r Created with Sketch.
    2002 Henry Hampton-Award for Excellence in Film and Digital Media
  • Producer

    Andrew Garrison

    Other ITVS Films
    Night Ride
    Third Ward TX

    We fund untold stories for public media.

    Learn more about funding opportunities with ITVS.

    The Film

    Adapted from Gurney Norman's novel Kinfolks, The Wilgus Stories dramatizes three rites of passage in the life of Wilgus Collier, a coalminer's son in Appalachia. In Fat Monroe, starring Ned Beatty, nine-year-old Wilgus holds his own against the good-natured teasing of his father's crony. In Night Ride, an adult again perplexes Wilgus, now age 14. In the dark, on a wasteland of burning mine tailings, wild Uncle Delmer offers Wilgus memories of his dead father and the mysteries of the universe. In Maxine, set in 1970, 23-year-old Wilgus packs up his VW for California and graduate school. Before he sets off, he comes to the aid of his distraught friend Maxine, a single mother who, for the first time, is able to depend on Wilgus.